That Was My Veil: Sartorial and Cosmetic Constructions of Resilience in Divorced Women

A research exploration of fashion and resilience by MA Fashion Studies graduate Kim Jenkins

What Not to Wear After a Breakup

What Not to Wear After a Breakup

I shared several narratives and socially pluralized “rules” (primarily aimed towards women) throughout my thesis this year that spoke to how one’s wardrobe can be a key component in resolving (or in some cases exacerbating) emotional anxiety and stress. It appears that Fashionista.com has just posted an article confirming this as well: 

“When a girl gets dumped her wardrobe isn’t always a priority. It should be. Looking back over the five most devastating breakups of my life, I wish that someone would have told me the many things I would regret. I wish 30-year-old me had told 20-year-old me a few fashion rules that would have helped me both heal and avoid the veiled laughter of my friends and frenemies.”

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
